Wednesday, March 3, 2010

Gaydar at The Gap



So I have recently found a love interest. I have fallen for a sales associate at The Gap. It's already pathetic that I have fallen for a guy that had rang up my panties, but to make it worst I've only actually seen him twice. Sure, each time included a decent conversation and an exchange in smiles. But I didn't even think of him as a love interest during these two so called meet ups. Then I started subconsciously thinking about him. Attention! I don't even know the guy's name. Our conversations were so brief that I couldn't even steal a glance at his name tag!

Then it hit me! He works at the GAP! Doesn't The Gap has some kind of sponsorship with the homosexual community? No, I'm kidding, but I work at the Gap and a majority of my fellow employees are same sex oriented. So now, I am really in a pickle, no pun intended (and if there was, it would be a really bad one!). I need to find out if this boy I keep dreaming about is going to come sweep me off my feet in a Disney's Sleeping Beauty-esque dance where all the animals dance and sing, or if I will get to add another friend to the Fag Hag entourage. For my sake, let's hope it's not the latter. Either way, I'm atleast happy to finally find someone who has sparked my interest. I mean, gosh, it's been about 2 years since a fine young man has been able to get my attention. Maybe it's because I go to an art school. Or you know, because I keep falling in love with the first guy to help me on the sales floor.

Monday, February 22, 2010

Photo Shoot!

So the other night we decided to go all out and have a photo shoot in the apartment. We got all the lamps in one room and grabbed the fancy camera and started shooting. There were hundreds of pictures. So I put down some of my favorites.



Thursday, January 28, 2010

Radiating Elegance

So the other night I watched Titanic for maybe the second and a half time in my life. It's a wonderful movie but I can't watch it alot because it makes me so emotional. Other then the fact that it is one of the best movies of all time, I have been pondering on the fact that it has some of the best costumes of all time.

My favorite dress by far is the green dress. Some Titanic fans call it the "Tea Dress" or the "Lunch Dress." I just call it the "Green Dress that I really, really want." It's gorgeous and I can't get it out of my head. It's no wonder she is wearing that dress when Jack first sees her and falls in love.





I also love the "Swim Dress," you know the dress she seems to fly around in while running away with Jack to movie history's most famous car. It may also be known as the dress she is in while the ship sinks.






Then, there is the Gold "Deck Dress." When she's walking around the deck she radiates elegance. That dress is so classy and flawless that it is able to capture every style of the era.




I think that I just get so blown away by these costumes because whenever they show up on screen you just have ooo and ahhh over how amazing the design is. If the movie wasn't so wonderful, the costumes could have stollen the show. But then again, Titanic did win 11 Academy Awards, one of those being for costume design. What I would give to try those dresses on, just one time.

Wednesday, January 27, 2010

Do I look Like I Speak Geek?

Some how I was able to make myself look like an idiot in my Design class. To sum up the discription of the class, it is pretty much a crash course in InDesign, Illustrator, and PhotoShop. Since yesterday was the first day of class, our teacher decided to give us a breif history of computers. He started talking about IBM and their old computers. He then asked who owned a PC computer. I was one of the only four people to raise my hands. Of course the rest of the class owned the design student's coveted MAC.

My teacher then started to tell us that IBM used to be the sole name of computers. Every computer had IBM's name on it. He then said that Windows was a branch off of IMB. He then asked each PC owner to raise their hand again. He pointed to me and said "What make of IBM computer do you own?" I wasn't quite sure what he was asking. I didn't know if he was talking about the brand or a certain geek speak that I wasn't familiar with. So thinking on my feet I replied, "I don't know." He then said, " Are you serious?" Then he went to the next girl. She said "Acer." Oh My Gaa- Of course he meant brand, Brittany. What else would he be talking about? I guess I will always be known for being the girl who didn't know what brand of computer she owns. Oh- And for the record, it's a 2008 Dell Inspiron Laptop.

Tuesday, January 26, 2010

A Case of The Mean Reds

So I think I have reached the point where I really don't know what to do with myself. I am in school and working a part time job that gives me little hours. I don't know how to operate without being busy. I enjoy the stress of being occupied all the time. I've been trying to find things to keep be busy but I just feel so worthless and wasteful. I just hope the semester picks up and I have something to keep on my mind. For the past month I have found a few things to keep myself away from boredum. I've read a book, experimented with numerous recipes, binged on frozen foods and canned fruit, watched 3 seasons of Will and Grace, started running (ok like 4 times), and done a few crunches.

I used to work at an athletic club where I got a free membership. I enjoyed lap swimming and yoga classes. Since I quit, I lost my membership. I'm longing to go for a swim and yearn for the relaxation of a yoga class. So I am thinking about joining a gym. I found one that has memberships starting at around $20/ month. It's all a month to month kind of thing. There is one location about 3 blocks from my house and another location on my school's campus. I would really like to join but I am not sure I can make that work with my finances now that my job decided to turn into 'hour nazis.'



Maybe it's just a mid-college crisis. Nothing to do and the path to my graduation is seeming very long and bleek. The end looks just as miserable. All I want is to finish school, have a good job, and live comfortably. For some reason I am afraid that it will not happen. Maybe it's SAD- you know that winter depression disease. What ever it is, I hope that this little party ends soon. As one Holly Golightly once said "I have a case of the mean reds."

Sunday, January 10, 2010

A Night at the Monster Ball


So last night I had the FABULOUS chance to see LADY GAGA at her Monster Ball concert in Chicago. LOVE IT! Just to make sure I remember that night FOREVER, I just wanted to jot down some of the best quotes I have ever heard from a performer. All from the wonderful Lady Gaga.
-"So on my way into the show a man tried to sell me some tickets outside. He was trying to sale me tickets to my own show. That scaliwag."
.
-"They asked me why I spent all my money on my concert, I said, naturally, my fans are sexy."
.
-"My high school did the musical Chicago. I was the director. I got the drama teacher fired. She was sitting in the principal's office saying 'It's art, it's art, it's art. She's talented!' And then she got fired."
.
- "I'm like Tinker Belle, if you don't clap for her, she will die, do you want me to die?"
.
-"If you guys are looking for the labels on my shoes, they don't have any because they're stripper shoes. My best friend asked me why I wear stripper shoes. She said 'Don't people send you shoes?' Yeah they send me shoes all the time, I just like stripper shoes."
.
Gaga: "...My label had just dropped me..."
Audience: "BOOOO!"
Gaga: "It's ok, I have a label now."
.
There may be more to come as I remember those fabulous quotes. BEST CONCERT EVER! and I think there is another one coming this summer. So, naturally, I will be going.

Tuesday, January 5, 2010

No-Bake Duds!


I can't make No-Bake Cookies like I used to. I am actually really hurt by this. When I was younger, like 11 years old, I used to make No-Bakes all the time with my mom. Slowly I started to make them by myself. They tasted GREAT. Well now that I am away from home at college, I tried to make them here. Well Now the stupid cookies won't harden. I am really discouraged. I followed the recipe exactly. I made them 2 seperate times. What is a girl to do once her cookie recipe doesn't work? Maybe I will have to move on to a new cookie recipe. Well if anyone good cookie recipes let me know!


-Brittany